Navigation Menu

aerate and pitch the yeast.

on

Home Forum… Beginners distilling Forum aerate and pitch the yeast.

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Deanas
      Participant

Sorry I am a real novice at this!!

How do you aerate the cider and what do you mean pitch the yeast?

ALso, what should the hydrometer read to be ready? What is the alcohol content of the hard cider?

I am going to buy a bottle of calvados and add my cider to it to make a bit of my own calvados as an experiment. With a 2 gallon still, I fear I would have to make 10 gallons of cider to get a bit of calvados. This way I hope to get a pint using a 5th of the brandy and a gallon of hard cider — does that sound about right? I also got French oak chips to add color and flavor.

thanks for your help!!!

Q)How do you aerate the cider ?
      A) The easiest and cheapest way to aerate is to dump the cider between two buckets a few times

Q)and what do you mean pitch the yeast?
      A) Pitching yeast is just another way to say add the yeast

Q) ALso, what should the hydrometer read to be ready?
      A) I like to shoot between 1.065 and 1.070

Q)What is the alcohol content of the hard cider?
      A) If you start with 1.065 and end at 1.000 you will have around 8.5%

Deanas
        Participant

Ok, measured with hydrometer. It reads 1000. I tasted it and it tastes yeasty but not alcoholic. the sugar is mostly gone. smells more like bear than apples. Is that right? I wonder if I should put a pinch of fresh cider in when I distill for apple accent?

Zymurgy Bob
      Participant