Navigation Menu

Juice Concentrate?

on

Home Forum… General Distilling Discussion Juice Concentrate?

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Fire_Capt
      Participant

Ok Guys and Gals, We are fresh at this new hobby of ours, So here is the question of the day…(Back Ground) we have made sugar shine, Rum, and Whiskey thus far. Sugar shine was basically sugar ,water and yeast. If the yeast turn the sugars into alcohol and the more sugar we added made it sweeter! Ok so what if you were to use a large amount of Juice Concentrate, lets say Pineapple for this question. and then we were looking at the frozen Hawaiian Sun Concentrates? Would the flavor be lost? would adding more sugar help? could you put crushed pineapples in the mash? or would they mold and ruin the mash?
      We look Forward you comments and Help….
      Thanks,
      Fire_Capt

Spawnman
      Participant

I am not an expert but that sounds like a good recipe to try. I would think the fruit would be fine as long as the yeast is working. I would ad sugar to the mash if I where you. Maybe someone else can chime in on this as well. Good luck! Let us know how it turns out!

Fire_Capt
      Participant

Spawn,
      Well NO one else responded…So my son and I did it anyway…Just so happens Hawaiian Sun Juice Concentrate was on sale… We used 40 cans of Passion Orange Concentrate, 10 Lbs of C&H White sugar, 2 Lbs of C&H Brown Sugar, 3 packets of bread yeast. There is a total of 7 gallons in the bucket (1.5 was used to melt the sugar). Its in a controlled temp room at 78 degrees. The Yeast is doing its thing and its bubbling. The room smells AWESOME…Today is day 3 of fermentation. I will keep you posted…
      Fire_Capt

Spawnman
      Participant

40 cans seems like allot for a total of 7 gallons in a bucket including water. What is C&H sugar? I just use regular table sugar from the store. Keep me posted I might want to try this one!

Fire_Capt
      Participant