mash process

on

Home Forum… Fermentation & Yeast mash process

Tagged: 

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author
      Bigcreekboy76
      Participant

I am just getting started, I have made a couple runs but I am losing some of it. I need to find out the best way to determine when my mash is ready to run with losing alcohol from it…thanks in advance..

Bigcreekboy76
      Participant

I was using a hydrometer to find the spefic gravity but it is not working on this batch…what am I doing wrong

BeverageCommander
      Participant

Can you explain your current process?

what is the recipe you are making?
      how did you make it?
      How are you using the hydrometer?

Give us some more information and we can help you

Bigcreekboy76
      Participant

I started by putting my rye seed in first then my water then my sugar then my yeast and nutrient’ I took a gravity reading of 1.040 it is at 1.000 a day later and holding there….I usually run it when it gets to 1.000..but this time it is still bubbling a bunch and tastes very sweet…I want someway to know for sure it is ready to run

Bigcreekboy76
      Participant

I got a sample in a test tube to check with the hydrometer

BeverageCommander
      Participant

Are you using malted rye? or flaked rye?
      How much are you using?
      How much water?
      How much sugar?

You should take a gravity reading before you pitch the yeast- it should not hurt anything as you took it right after you pitched it, but it is best to take a reading before you pitch it.

What yeast did you pitch? Some yeast will ferment below 1.000 – I’ve use whiskey yeast with added nutrients and it went below 1.000. It it is still bubbling let it continue to ferment- take another reading tomorrow, and one the day after that. If the gravity does not change 3 days in a row it is finished. Can you take a picture of the hydrometer in the test jar?

Bigcreekboy76
      Participant